Reviews

reviews
ace3767 Avatar
ace3767

Went here based on the reviews and was not disappointed. Great service and did not try to add on sales, gave excellent advice. Loved the early hours. Will definitely return !!!!!

7/11/2019
Matthew Jerkovic Avatar
Matthew Jerkovic

Walked in there not knowing everything about fishing in the oceans. Only have knowledge of fishing up North for bigger fish like muskies and Northern. These guys were very helpful and would recommend going there for anyone who wants to do some fishing while they're on Sanibel Island

7/08/2019
Lloyd Hood Avatar
Lloyd Hood

Definitely our go-to for anything fishing-related including bait an excellent advice highly recommended

7/01/2019
Kevin Seibert Avatar
Kevin Seibert

Best bait shop around, great customer service. Everything you need for your fishing trip.

6/03/2019
Gary Jennifer Avatar
Gary Jennifer

Great information on fishing. Very helpful and friendly.. Best bait and tackle shop on the Island

6/03/2019
Colin Bradley Smith Avatar
Colin Bradley Smith

Been going to Whit’s since he opened shop. Killer dude with the right stuff on the shelves. Been out a few times with him and his guys and we’ve fished against them just as much... they never disappoint! Couldn’t do as good as we do without ‘em!

5/27/2019
Guy Lewis Avatar
Guy Lewis

Awesome Rod And Reels-Best Bait On The Island!!! Convenient Location and Friendly Staff!! Biggest 🦐Shrimp Around!!!

5/27/2019
Misty Wells Avatar
Misty Wells

Great tackle shop everything you need awesome staff

5/18/2019
Perry Smith Avatar
Perry Smith

Excellent place for fishing tackle needs and live bait .

5/06/2019
Dawn M. Avatar
Dawn M.
5 star rating

Great place to go to get tips for fishing in Sanibel. Everyone in the store is very knowledgeable and friendly. This is the only bait shop we go to when visiting sanibel.

5/06/2019
Caleb Wistad Avatar
Caleb Wistad

You will not be disappointed at Whitney’s. Great guys, tons of info and super service!

4/28/2019
Andrew Powers Bayer Avatar
Andrew Powers Bayer

Best bait shop on sanibel no doubt!! They are some of the nicest people on the island and have a terrific selection of clothing tackle and more. Be sure to make a stop in while you’re on island!

4/27/2019
Ana V. Avatar
Ana V.
5 star rating

We came in from Arizona for the weekend stopped here to rent fishing rods. The owner went above and beyond setting us up with all we needed to go fishing and information of where to go. Great experience you won't be disappointed.

4/26/2019
Robert Meehan Avatar
Robert Meehan

Super friendly and totally hooked us up with what we needed

My kids both caught fish and were happy 😄

4/23/2019
Adam Wilson Avatar
Adam Wilson

Great experience.

Red Tide was in last year....but Whitney worked his butt off to find fish....

Would recommend to any one or group.

3/26/2019
Zac Fisher Avatar
Zac Fisher

Awesome shop. They helped me out with a ton of info and had some great gear, rods, bait, and tackle. Each time I've been in whoever I talked to was very enthusiastic and helpful! Cool selection of clothing too!

2/26/2019
Christopher Salter Avatar
Christopher Salter

Whitney and his crew are incredibly helpful and honest! Good prices and great people. Would reccomend for any of your fishing needs!

2/19/2019
Jonathan D Rufener Avatar
Jonathan D Rufener

Great shop! Great selection! And even greater people all around! Whitney’s is a must for all your water life needs!

2/08/2019
robclax2n Avatar
robclax2n
5 star rating

Great source of local knowledge Outstanding bait and tackle shop. First trip to Sanibel, and Whitney made it his personal mission to make sure I had the right set-up to catch fish in the right spots. My only regret is that I waited so long into the visit to visit this place. Definitely plan to come back. More

1/04/2019
Rob C. Avatar
Rob C.
5 star rating

Great tackle shop, and I've been to a few. Whitney came out to my car to evaluate the different gear I had with me, then mixed and matched, added some leader, and saved me some money on the swim bait I was planning on buying. After that, he gave me a couple of different options on where to fish and with what. Couldn't ask for much more than that.

1/04/2019
JonM3241 Avatar
JonM3241
5 star rating

Great staff, great guides. We have had a number of wonderful experiences with Whitney and his team. Jarrett is a fantastic captain and has taken my son out a number of times. Each charter has been a real success and we keep coming back. The shop has a great selection of merchandise and the people are knowledgeable and so friendly. Spontaneously hanging out with Whitney and his family and all of their extended friends on the island at the Christmas BBQ was an event to remember.

1/01/2019
Bill Maeglin Avatar
Bill Maeglin

Awesome guys working in the shop. Very friendly and helpful with good advice for all levels of fishermen (and fisherwomen).

12/28/2018
Joe Caruso Avatar
Joe Caruso

Helpful, knowledgeable and friendly!

12/15/2018
jerkbait Avatar
jerkbait
5 star rating

Best bait, great guides and solid information It was my second year in a row using Whitneys for bait and local information. Biggest shrimp on the island for sure. The shore bite was off a bit this year so I was really glad I booked a half day guided trip with Captain Nate! He worked me in and we had a great snook trip boating around 20 with 6 big ones! Nate had the bite dialed in and we were on fish early and often dragging a solid 35 inch fish from deep in the mangroves for pictures and release. From the first class boat and gear to the best tank of white bait I have ever seen, this guy came in ready for business. We fished trout together last year and this was just as fast but the fish were much larger. Explosive strikes in deep cover, long screaming runs and violent head shaking surface action. Highly recommend you give it a try. I am already planning next years trip. WHitney runs a first class shop. I fished for many species in 9 different states this year and this ranks as my new favorite!

12/04/2018
Kathy Gendron Avatar
Kathy Gendron

I can’t thank Whitney’s enough for letting us rent a pole for my son to Enjoy! Landon is 11 and has a passion for fishing. Thank you again for everything! I have told so many people about you guys being so helpful & sweet! Thanks again!!

9/12/2018
MISTY C Avatar
MISTY C
5 star rating

Fun time! My family and I visited the shop to reserve a 4 hr charter. The details were clearly explained. The boat captain Jarrett was fantastic. He took us where there was an abundance of fish. He was very knowledgeable and friendly.

It was well worth the money paid and if we ever come back to Sanibel we will charter with them again.

8/06/2018
Sam Austin Avatar
Sam Austin

These guys are so awesome! I pulled up about 10 minutes before the regular closeting time and they had already closed the doors, since it was a slow night. They insisted that they open the doors and sell me $12 worth of shrimp and they were so friendly. Most bait shops would not do this.

8/03/2018
John D. Avatar
John D.
5 star rating

Very helpful and open late. Owners nephew was running the place when I stopped by. Spent time to get me hooked up with new reel and gave me some good pointers. Thanks and gonna go test them out tonight!

7/29/2018
islandzephyr Avatar
islandzephyr
5 star rating

Great Local Bait and Tackle Shop These guys know the island and care about your success and fishing enjoyment. We rented rod and reel and purchased bait which gave us days of enjoyment fishing from the beach. The owner, Whitney and his staff provide years of experience which they generously share with their customers.

7/27/2018
MrW99 Avatar
MrW99
5 star rating

Hiring rods We wanted to fish for the day while on Sanibel but needed to hire a rod. Went into Whitney’s Bait and Tackle, the man was very helpful and explained what we needed and also assisted in setting up the rod we had with us. Got us all set with bait and also helped with get our license. Can’t recommend them enough.

7/03/2018

Here's Your Chance. Review Us!